Infectious Disease

The Division of Infectious Diseases and Immunology is a very busy group, providing consultation service to both inpatient and outpatient units throughout the program. The division addresses general infectious disease problems and conducts a comprehensive program for children and youth with HIV at Connecticut Children's Medical Center. Division members also diagnose and follow patients with congenital and acquired immunodeficiency syndromes. The Division offers advice and provides specialized vaccination services for children and young adults traveling to foreign countries.

The research interests of members of the division are quite varied and include clinical, educational and basic science research programs. Current areas of study are: innate immunity, periodic fever syndromes, tick borne diseases including ehrlichiosis, babesiosis and Lyme disease, streptococcal infections, global child health, parasitic and tropical diseases, antimicrobial resistance, HIV, and congenital syphilis. Residents interact with division faculty frequently throughout the service and elective months, and may also elect further service and/or research months. The faculty is recognized by house staff for its teaching, service, dedication and skill.

Infectious Disease Faculty

Juan C. Salazar, M.D., M.P.H.
Physician in Chief
Professor and Division Head
jsalaza@connecticutchildrens.org

Andrea Benin, M.D.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Senior Vice President, Quality & Patient Safety
abenin@connecticutchildrens.org

Nicholas Bennett MA (Cantab), MBBChir, PhD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Head, Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases and Immunology
nbennett01@connecticutchildrens.org

Alberto Cohen-Abbo, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
acohen@connecticutchildrens.org

Melissa J. Caimano, Ph.D
Assistant Professor
mcaima@uchc.edu

Henry M. Feder, Jr., M.D.
Professor of Pediatrics
hfeder@connecticutchildrens.org

Jen Girotto, PharmD
School of Pharmacy and Instructor of Pediatrics
jgirotto@connecticutchildrens.org

Melissa Held, M.D.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Assistant Dean for Medical Education
mheld@connecticutchildrens.org

Hillary Hernandez-Trujillo M.D., MSCE
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
HHernandez@connecticutchildrens.org

Thomas Murray, M.D., Ph.D
Assistant Professor
tmurray@connecticutchildrens.org

Gavin Schwarz M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
GSchwarz01@connecticutchildrens.org

Juan C. Salazar, MD, MPH
Juan C. Salazar, M.D., M.P.H
.

University of Connecticut Pediatric Residency Program, Connecticut Children's Medical Center.

Medical Education, 4H, 282 Washington Street, Hartford, CT 06106