General Pediatrics

Ambulatory pediatric rotations, newborn nursery rotations, the longitudinal care experience (i.e. continuity clinic) and primary care electives are housed primarily within the academic Division of General Pediatrics, and with our faculty partners within the Division of Community Pediatrics. Residents complete rotations in ambulatory general pediatrics and the longitudinal care experience at one of our primary care sites, gaining skill and experience in managing acute and chronic complaints and providing health supervision for a panel of patients under the supervision of dedicated faculty members.

The Division provides over 55,000 outpatient pediatric visits annually, delivering exceptional clinical care in partnership with families and teaching evidence-based clinical pediatrics to our pediatric residents and other learners. All of our activities place special emphasis on caring for children with special health-care needs, including disadvantaged children, children growing up in low-income families, and children with complex and chronic medical conditions.

We provide the majority of pediatric primary care to Hartford’s children. The largest teaching site, Community Health Center at Connecticut Children’s, is a Federally Qualified Health Center and an NCQA-recognized Level 3 Medical Home in a beautiful new facility located just ½ mile from CT Children’s. Our other sites at the Burgdorf/Bank of America Health Center and Connecticut Children’s Primary Care at East Hartford and at West Hartford each offer distinct, exceptional clinical and teaching environments for learning general pediatrics.

Our ambulatory services include health supervision, behavioral health care, chronic disease management, and urgent care using a Medical Home model. Adolescent Medicine subspecialty primary care and consultative services are also provided on-site at CHC @ CCMC. The division houses innovative, community-wide clinical programs such as the Hartford Regional Lead Poisoning Treatment Center and the Reach Out and Read literacy program. Research and Quality Improvement interests include immunization, emergent literacy, optimizing health screening, lead poisoning, asthma care, and behavioral health. This broad and rich foundation in general pediatrics prepares residents exceptionally well for their future careers in primary care or subspecialty pediatrics. Members of the faculty serve as faculty mentors to many of the pediatric residents and are the recipients of many teaching awards, demonstrating their on-going commitment to our residents’ learning and professional development.

General Pediatrics Faculty

Catherine Wiley, M.D.
Associate Professor and Division Head
cwiley@connecticutchildrens.org

Anton Alerte, M.D.
Assistant Professor
aalerte@stfranciscare.org

Alberto Cohen-Abbo, M.D.
Assistant Professor
acohen@connecticutchildrens.org

Patricia Garcia, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Pgarcia01@connecticutchildrens.org

Jennifer Haile, M.D.
Assistant Professor
jhaile@connecticutchildrens.org

Patricia Joyce, M.D.
Associate Professor
pjoyce@stfranciscare.org

Jaye Ladinsky, M.D.
Assistant Professor
jladinsk@connecticutchildrens.org

Paula Lucuara Revelo, M.D.
Assistant Professor
plucuara@connecticutchildrens.org

Douglas MacGilpin, M.D.
Assistant Professor
dmacgilp@connecticutchildrens.org

Margaret McLaren, M.B., Ch.B
Associate Professor
mmclare@connecticutchildrens.org

Lisa Menillo, M.D.
Assistant Professor

Sandra Motta, M.D.
Assistant Professor
smotta@connecticutchildrens.org

Jody Navitsky, M.D.
Assistant Professor
jnavitsky@connecticutchildrens.org

Joseph Newell, M.D.
Assistant Professor
jnewell@connecticutchildrens.org

Grael O'Brien, M.D.
Assistant Professor
gobrien@stfranciscare.org

Aruna Ramanann, M.D.
Assistant Professor
aramanan@uchc.edu

Laurie Scheiner, M.D.
Assistant Professor
lschein@connecticutchildrens.org

Larry Scherzer, M.D.
Assistant Professor
lscherz@harthosp.org

Hilda Slivka, M.D.
Associate Professor
hslivka@connecticutchildrens.org

Jody Terranova, M.D.
Assistant Professor
jterran@connecticutchildrens.org

Latesha Thomas, M.D.
Assistant Professor
lthomas@harthosp.org

Nancy Trout, M.D.
Assistant Professor
ntrout@stfranciscare.org

Keri Wallace, M.D.
Assistant Clinical Professor
kwallace@connecticutchildrens.org

Jessica Zimmerman, M.D.
Assistant Professor
jzimmerman@connecticutchildrens.org

Catherine Wiley, M.D.
Catherine Wiley, M.D.

University of Connecticut Pediatric Residency Program, Connecticut Children's Medical Center.

Medical Education, 4H, 282 Washington Street, Hartford, CT 06106