Gastroenterology and Nutrition

The Division of Pediatric Gastroenterology maintains a very active consultation service for children with gastrointestinal, nutritional, and hepatic problems. Approximately 14,000 outpatients are seen each year and the inpatient days are nearly 2500. Endoscopic examinations of the upper and lower gastrointestinal tract, pH impedance studies, liver biopsy, and breath hydrogen testing are performed. Video capsule endoscopy is offered for the diagnosis of IBD as well as occult GI bleeding. The Center for Pediatric IBD is one of the busiest in the nation and a recipient of NIH funding since 2012. .

Research interests of the Division include investigating the pathogenesis and new treatment modalities for inflammatory bowel disease and functional abdominal pain, allergic gastrointestinal disorders, short gut syndrome, and fecal transplantation.. Other interests include: infantile colic, carbohydrate malabsorption, and gastroesophageal reflux. Residents are exposed to gastroenterology and hepatology during inpatient and outpatient rotations and during electives in this area.

Gastroenterology and Nutrition Faculty

Jeffrey S. Hyams, M.D.
Professor and Head
jhyams@connecticutchildrens.org

Karan Emerick, M.D.
Associate Professor
kemerick@connecticutchildrens.org

Wael Sayej, M.D.
Assistant Professor
wsayej@connecticutchildrens.org

Franziska Mohr, MD
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
fmohr@connecticutchildrens.org

Victori Grossi, DO
Assistant Professor
vgrossi@connecticutchildrens.org

Katheraine Baldwin, MD
Assistant Professor
kbaldwin@connecticutchildrens.org

Bella Zeisler, M.D.
Assistant Professor
bzeisler@connecticutchildrens.org

Zev Davidovics, MD
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
zdavidovics@connecticutchildrens.org

Peter Townsend, MD
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
PTownsend@connecticutchildren.org

Melissa Fernandes, MD
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
MFernandes@connecticutchildren.org

Jasmeet Mokha, MD
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
JMokha@connecticutchildren.org

Jeffrey S. Hyams, M.D.
Jeffrey S. Hyams, MD

University of Connecticut Pediatric Residency Program, Connecticut Children's Medical Center.

Medical Education, 4H, 282 Washington Street, Hartford, CT 06106