Endocrinology

The division has a very active clinical program with approximately 11,000 outpatient visits per year divided among 10 half-day sessions a week. Over 350 children and adolescents with diabetes are managed with a team of 3 nurse practitioners, 4 RD diabetes educators, and 1 social worker. We have subspecialty clinics in Bone disorders, Gender Identity, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, Turner Syndrome, and will be starting a new Lipid disorders clinic and Rare bone disorders clinic. We work in multidisciplinary clinics with Urology (Disorder of Sexual Dysgenesis –GUPPE), Surgery and Radiology (Thyroid Center), Neurosurgery and Oncology (Neuro-Onc Clinic and Late Effects Clinic). We have weekly didactic lectures as part of our academic curriculum for all learners including our fellowship program members, as well as participate in the resident lectures offered throughout the year. We have a 3 year fellowship program in Endocrinology. We also have a Weight management behavioral program and participate in the Bariatric program with general surgery.

Areas of clinical research include type I diabetes in childhood, metabolic bone disorders of childhood, growth disorders, and obesity. Laboratory research will be involved in metabolic bone disorders in rare bone diseases.

Endocrinology Faculty

Emily Germain-Lee, MD
Professor and Head
EGermain@connecticutchildrens.org

Susan K. Ratzan, MD (per Diem)
Professor Emeritus
SRatzan@connecticutchildrens.org

Karen Rubin, MD
Professor
KRubin@connecticutchildrens.org

Cem Demirci, MD
Assistant Professor
CDemirci@connectcutchildrens.org

Nancy Dunbar, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor
NDunbar@connecticutchildrens.org

Priya Phulwani, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor
PPhulwa@connecticutchildrens.org

Rebecca Riba-Wolman, MD
Assistant Professor
RRiba@connecticutchildrens.org

Sunitha Sura, MD
Assistant Professor
SSura@connecticutchildrens.org

Christine Trapp, MD
Assistant Professor
CTrapp@connecticutchildrens.org

University of Connecticut Pediatric Residency Program, Connecticut Children's Medical Center.

Medical Education, 4H, 282 Washington Street, Hartford, CT 06106