Critical Care

The Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU) is an 18-bed Medical/Surgical unit where approximately 850 critically ill children per year receive care and treatment. The Critical Care staff consists of 9 board-certified Critical Care physicians who provide 24 hour a day in-house coverage. Other PICU-based care team members include a nurse unit Director, Manager, and Assistant Manager, over 50 staff nurses, and unit secretaries and aides. Patients in the PICU are managed by a multidisciplinary group including: Critical Care staff physicians and pediatric subspecialists, specifically certified nurses, pediatric respiratory therapists, child life and rehabilitation specialists, nutritionists, pharmacists, social workers, and discharge planners. Our goal is to provide state-of-the-art, comprehensive family-centered care in an acute care setting. Medical and Surgical residents, fellows, and medical students also are part of the team, actively participating in patient care as they learn about the pathophysiologies underlying critical illness and current therapeutic approaches.

A PICU staff physician is always in the unit, available to answer questions and to facilitate the transfer and admission of patients requiring critical care or intensive monitoring.

Critical Care Faculty

Aaron Zucker, M.D.
Medical Director, Pediatric Intensive Care Unit
Division Chief, Pediatric Critical Care
Professor of Pediatrics
AZucker@connecticutchildrens.org

Kenneth Banasiak, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
KBanasiak@connecticutchildrens.org

Christopher Carroll, M.D.
Professor of Pediatrics
Director, Pediatric Critical Care Research
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
CCarroll@connecticutchildrens.org

Leonard Comeau, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
LComeau@connecticutchildrens.org

Allison Cowl, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
ACowl@connecticutchildrens.org

Daniel Fisher, M.D.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
DFisher@connecticutchildrens.org

Rosanne Salonia, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
RSalonia@connecticutchildrens.org

Heather Schlott, M.D.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
HSchlott@connecticutchildrens.org

Adam Silverman, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Attending Physician, Division of Critical Care
Attending Physician, Division of Emergency Medicine
ASilverman@connecticutchildrens.org

 

 

 

 

 

Aaron Zucker, M.D.
Aaron Zucker, M.D.

University of Connecticut Pediatric Residency Program, Connecticut Children's Medical Center.

Medical Education, 4H, 282 Washington Street, Hartford, CT 06106