Cardiology

The Cardiology Division is primarily based at Connecticut Children's Medical Center, where the faculty provides care for a large number of patients in our ambnulatory clinic. We also have 4 satellite ambulatory clinics in other diverse areas of the state where patients are evaluated and diagnostic studies preformed. In addition members of the Division oversee the care of inpatients at the Medical Center in both the intensive care units and on the general pediatric units. This includes the care of complex cardiac surgery patients, newborns with congenital cardiac defects and patients with electrophysiology anomalies. Members of the Division have a broad scope of individual expertise including electrocardiography; echocardiography with 3 dimensional echocardiography; adult congenital heart disease; exercise stress testing; cardiac catheterization with interventional cardiology and angiography; electrophysiology; preventative cardiology; extensive cardiac magnetic resonance imaging and diagnostic services and materno-fetal (in-utero) cardiac assessment, diagnosis and management.

The division has been instrumental in establishing and publishing national guidelines for cardio-pulmonary resuscitation in infants and children. Research interests are several including the role of cardiac MRI in the early detection of myocardial changes during and after cancer chemotherapy and pioneering innovative therapies in electrophysiology and angiography.

Teaching medical students, residents, and adult cardiology fellows is a focus and important mission for the Division. Pediatric residents work with members of the Division in a variety of inpatient and outpatient settings during their elective rotations. The pediatric residents also work with the Pediatric Cardiologists while on their inpatient rotations. Many medical students choose to participate in the elective and contribute to researcdh projects. Adult cardiology fellows from the area, including the University of Connecticut, rotate for one month during their fellowship, their experience in Pediatric Cardiology is much appreciated and applauded by them, as it is by all learners in the Division.

Cardiology Faculty

MacDara Tynan, MD
Assistant Professor and
Interim, Division Head
Mtynan@connecticutchildrens.org

Frederic Bernstein, DO
Assistant Professor

Brooke Davey, MD
Assistant Professor
BDavey@connecticutchildrens.org

Alex Golden, MD
Assistant Professor
AGolden@connecticutchildrens.org

Felice Heller, M.D.
Assistant Clinical Professor
fheller@connecticutchildrens.org

Coleen Jo, MD
Assistant Professor
CJo@connecticutchildrens.org

Mohsen Karimi, M.D.
Assistant Professor
MKarimi@connecticutchildrens.org 

Seth Lapuk, M.D.
Associate Clinical Professor
slapuk@connecticutchildrens.org

Harris B. Leopold, M.D
Associate Clinical Professor
hleopol@connecticutchildrens.org

Olga Toro-Salazar, M.D.
Associate Clinical Professor
otoro@connecticutchildrens.org

Alicia Wang, M.D.
Associate Clinical Professor
awang@connecticutchildrens.org 

Amy Wu, M.D.
Associate Clinical Professor
awu01@connecticutchildrens.org

Shailendra Upadhyay, MD
Assistant Professor
SUpadhyay@connecticutchildrens.org

 

University of Connecticut Pediatric Residency Program, Connecticut Children's Medical Center.

Medical Education, 4H, 282 Washington Street, Hartford, CT 06106